THE ENEMY

 

THE  ENEMY

 

I stand and look deeply into a mirror of honesty-

What I see,

Who I am;

Transparency comes over the heart and mind,

Self naked, fully exposed

Suddenly I see only my human need,

Need for God.

By myself, within, from myself

Is nothing,

Alone I wither on the nearest vine

My hands are calloused, yet empty

The face of a stranger looks back, alone and forgotten, older.

A man or a woman can do no good thing

Save reach out in belief towards heaven,

For faith in the only Son.

In humble prayer, a grasp toward the only True One,

Holy One high above the earth who cares for us

Compassionate One above the heavens who reveals His mercy in kindness,

And makes love and grace known.

A most personal revelation of the Cross of Messiah Yeshua,” Ancient of Days”,

A touch from God and my intimate share as a mere man comes alive

The real enemy – “Self”, begins to wilt

The vision held, the daily reality of Messiah as all in all

Revelation to “carry my own cross daily” makes me alive at last

My taste of heaven

To drink from His cup

Only lasting satisfaction in this life

To draw near and to carry my cross daily,

Dying to self so as to live in my Creator

His Spirit given as inner beauty to me

Gift of love to one sunk low, now raised very high.

Salvation, the divine rescue of humanity

From “Self” and from the dark and powerful “predator”-Satan,

Usurper of the earth, ultimate rebel in creation

Who plays the mind as a most perverse artist

Manipulator, controller, intimidator

Expert of deception, dripping with lies as sweat

Who parades death upon the earth as a celebration in many forms.

Cast out of Heaven

Cast from his pretender’s throne above earth

Cast from false lordship over nations

Cast from his grip upon the human mind and soul

Crushed beneath the Holy heel of Yeshua on that Cross.

Mystery revealed to men and women, as children

Who reach out and take hold of the hem of His garment as He passes by

Glorious King

Alone enthroned above the heavens

Who draws to Himself each one whose heart reaches for Him.   

 

About Gary Bertnick

I was a Minnesota teenager in the late 1960's. I was drafted into the military after an intense time at an engineering school. As a graduate chemical engineer and former athlete, I became a Marine Corps private. The Lord spoke to me through a friend while visiting Rapid City,S.D. My true discipleship began in Southern California and was boosted through association with Morris Cerullo Ministry and others. I fed upon the Scriptures and have learned to be led by the Holy Spirit. I know what the fear of the Lord is. What I write is done to honor the Lord and to touch the lives of those who know Him as well as those who should.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

