WANDERING HEARTS

 

 

WANDERING  HEARTS

 

Wandering hearts lost in the world

The search for meaning becomes an end in itself

The process a futility inbred,

Wasted lives strewn about

Daily appetites selfishly filled as the earth is plundered

The weak stepped on by the strong

Trampled into the bare dirt

Like a stampede at a religious shrine, a pagan celebration

Chaotic rock concert

Pretentious false icons,

Demons hiss like serpents as they gather only to destroy.

The music of another lost generation

Sounds echo into the dark night

The emptiness so gladly embraced

Seductive melodies and words and energy

Cling to the souls

Cloud all reason and eternal divine purpose.

 

 

About Gary Bertnick

I was a Minnesota teenager in the late 1960's. I was drafted into the military after an intense time at an engineering school. As a graduate chemical engineer and former athlete, I became a Marine Corps private. The Lord spoke to me through a friend while visiting Rapid City,S.D. My true discipleship began in Southern California and was boosted through association with Morris Cerullo Ministry and others. I fed upon the Scriptures and have learned to be led by the Holy Spirit. I know what the fear of the Lord is. What I write is done to honor the Lord and to touch the lives of those who know Him as well as those who should.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WANDERING HEARTS

  1. This reminds me of some of the things I seen when I went into the city this past weekend…
    My heart ached for them, that they did not know Jesus.

  2. Gary,
    Your poetry is just too good to keep quiet about. So I sent your web site address to:
    http://loopyloo305.com/blogroll-of-some-of-my-favorite-christian-sites/
    as a suggestion to add to her list. You can also go there and ask her yourself to put your site on her page.
    Blessings to you dear brother,
    C. Dunamis

Leave a Reply

